Chronicles of a Pseudo Stylist

Fashion and Style combined with Polyvore sets

Digital Coverage of MBNYFW Fall/Winter 2015-16 Prelude to Inaugural Day: See by Chloé

If I needed any further confirmation that the 1970s, primarily the early/mid 1970s, were back in style, then See by Chloé designer Clare Waight Keller’s collection for Fall/Winter 2015-16 season did just that. From the color palette to the pieces in the collection, as well as the looks that were comprised of said pieces, it all screamed early/mid 1970s to me. I could pick up some of my relatives’ old high school yearbooks (with their permission, of course), and I would see some of the pieces similar to the ones seen in this collection sported by the students in the photos. This collection was like a tour through the closet of Margot Tenenbaum* to me, from the color palette to the ubiquitous fingerless gloves that top Margot Tenenbaum’s signature looks.

The color palette consisted of camel, tangerine, black, pink, red, gray, white, navy, peach, and mustard, a color palette that does appear to have come out of the early/mid 1970s. When I saw that one of the colors was indeed tangerine, I immediately thought back to the color of the walls in my grandparents’ kitchen when they were living in a duplex on Church St. in Salem, NJ, back when it actually was a duplex. Back in the early/mid 1970s, closer to the mid 1970s to be accurate, my grandmother had a kitchen that sported the far out shade of tangerine on the walls of said kitchen. Of course this is also based on pictures I’ve seen of that kitchen during that time. The color was bold, however, by the time I came along, the duplex was no longer an actual duplex; it had been renovated, which started around the time Grandmom DeGrotto(Dragotto) was getting sick and she couldn’t watch roller derby  on TV. An unrelated tidbit in relation to said duplex is that it was once a shoe store long before it was converted into section 8 housing.

What this has to do with anything? Well not much except for the fact that what I was relating to the color and potential seasonal trend when it comes to fashion decades does have some significance because it was a popular color in some homes 38-40 years ago. The rest of what I was talking about was to add a backstory because it is true, but I’m recounting both what I’ve been told by other relatives who were around during the time period I was talking about and what I’ve seen in old pictures.

Back to the presentation, much like Margot Tenenbaum, layering was key and played an important role in the entire collection as far as styling went. However, while color was the standout amongst this collection, variety proved to soar this into eye-catching standout. A variety of prints is what really made the collection stand tall. From animal prints to polka dot prints, the possibilities were endless when it came to potential looks/outifits. I even saw opportunity to mix prints and colors, even prints and prints, and colors with other colors for a more unique spin on an outfit or look. Denim was popular as well, however, it wasn’t your classical standard stonewash denim. Instead, indigo denim was the “in” denim for the collection, possibly even this season.

Models strutted down the runway wearing ponchos, tops/dresses with flutter sleeves, short-shorts, bateau neck tops/dresses, thigh high stockings topped off with block heeled shoes. I even saw a romper worn, which could signify that the ’60s/70s style is making a comeback, but the minidresses took care of that. It was an ethereal take on Margot Tenenbaum’s closet, or at least any 70s era teenage fashion plate’s closet.

I really loved this collection, especially since it was almost as if my parents’, aunt’s, uncle’s, and cousins’ yearbooks suddenly came to life before my eyes, of course Margot Tenenbaum would make a cameo in this production.

*= for the record, I was actually watching “The Royal Tenenbaums” while I was looking at the presentation, taking notes, and typing the review. Any mention seen elsewhere in reviews is purely coincidental, but I do not claim to be the first person to use this movie as a reference.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,715 hits

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 444 other followers

